Fort Worth Manslaughter Attorney
Let Our Fort Worth Criminal Defense Lawyer Fight for You
If you were arrested and charged with manslaughter in Texas, it is imperative
to obtain experienced legal counsel from a qualified lawyer. At
Jerry Loftin & Associates, we are committed to protecting the rights, reputations, and freedom of
all our clients.
more than 65 years of combined experience, our Fort Worth criminal defense attorneys have a comprehensive understanding
of Texas law to guide you through the complexities of the legal system.
Do not hesitate to get the skilled legal help to get your life back on track.
Penalties for Manslaughter
In Texas, manslaughter cases are often confusing and subjective since the
state doesn’t officially distinguish between voluntary and involuntary
manslaughter. In order to be convicted of manslaughter, the prosecution
must demonstrate that the defendant caused the death of another person
by acting in a reckless manner. There is no need to prove an element of
knowledge, intent, or premeditation to be convicted of manslaughter.
Manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony, punishable by a prison
sentence between two and 20 years, as well as a maximum fine of $10,000.
A felony conviction can also have an adverse impact on a defendant’s
future opportunities in life, such as access to employment and housing programs.
How Much is Bail for Manslaughter?
Charges for manslaughter can carry a bail requirement as high as $100,000.
For a bail amount that high, the bail bondsman is required to charge $10,000
to post a bond in place of the bail. These rates are set by statute, and
all bail bond companies are required to charge the same amount. Many charges,
including charges related to manslaughter, are listed on the standard
bail schedules and are on file with local courts, jails, and booking facilities.
If the charges being made are eligible for immediate bail, the amount
of bail on the schedule will be used. If circumstances indicate that a
bail hearing is required, the defendant will have to appear before a judge
to have a bail amount set before having the opportunity to bail out of
jail for manslaughter.
Is Killing Someone in a Car Accident Manslaughter?
Killing someone in a car accident could lead to a manslaughter charge depending
on a range of factors of the accident. If you have been responsible for
an accident, causing the death of a second party, then a court may find
you to be liable and charge you with vehicular manslaughter. You are not
going to be charged with vehicular manslaughter if the court can establish
that the accident was genuinely something outside of your control, for
example. If conditions on the road were poor, or some freak accident occurred,
then it is very unlikely that you are going to be considered responsible
for the accident and subsequently charged with vehicular manslaughter.
Something that is important in many states when considering a vehicular
manslaughter charge is whether or not you have driven recklessly or in
a way that constitutes negligence. If your negligent driving or actions
behind the wheel caused the accident, then you may be charged with vehicular
Call (817) 429-2000 to Discuss Your Legal Options Today
former prosecutor, our
Fort Worth criminal defense attorney can anticipate how the prosecution will approach your case, giving you
an advantage in the courtroom. With
over 3,000 cases handled throughout Texas successfully handled, we are confident that we can produce the same results for you.
Contact us and schedule a free consultation today.